Academic Staff
Professor Allan Matthews BSc PhD CEng FIMMM FIMechE FIEE FIMF

Head of Dept. Engineering Materials and Professor of Surface Engineering

Allan Matthews joined the Department at the beginning of 2003, having spent the previous 21 years at Hull University, where he was Director of the Research Centre in Surface Engineering. He spent his early career in the UK aerospace industry. He is co-author of Coatings Tribology (Elsevier) and several other books. He has also published over 300 refereed papers, and is listed as a 'Highly Cited" researcher on the ISI Web of KnowledgeSM on-line platform. He currently holds eleven patents (eight granted and three pending). He is Editor of the journal Surface and Coatings Technology.


Tel: +44 (0)114 222 5466

Professor W Mark Rainforth BMet PhD MIM CEng FInstP CPhys

Professor of Materials Science and Engineering

After obtaining a 1st Class Honours degree from the University of Sheffield, Mark Rainforth initially followed an industrial career. He later joined the Department from the University of Leeds in 1989 and rapidly established state-of-the-art facilities in electron microscopy and tribology. He is co-author of the book `Ceramic Microstructures´ with W E Lee, a winner of the Rosenhain Medal of the IoM3 and is currently President of the Royal Microscopical Society.


Tel: +44 (0) 114 222 5469

Dr Adrian Leyland BSc PhD MInstP

Lecturer in Surface Technology

Adrian Leyland is an Honours Graduate of Leeds University (BSc, Materials Science & Engineering, 1985), who joined the Department at the beginning of 2003, having spent the previous 17 years at Hull University, where he obtained his PhD in Plasma Surface Engineering in 1992, from the group of Professor Allan Matthews. He subsequently worked as an Investment Research Fellow in the Research Centre in Surface Engineering at Hull, and as a Lecturer in the Department of Engineering. He is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of the Elsevier Journal Vacuum, and of the Ion and Plasma Surface Interactions (IPSI) Committee in the Applied Physics & Technology division of the Institute of Physics.


Tel: +44 (0)114 222 5486

Dr Beverley J Inkson MA PhD (Cantab)

Beverley Inkson joined the department in 2002, moving from The University of Oxford as a Royal Society URF in Nanomechanics. She is a Reader in Nanostructured Materials, Director of the RCUK Basic Technology programme in Nanorobotics and Chair of the UK NanoFIB network.


Telephone: +44 (0) 114 222 5925